Enduring Excellence in Learning, Leadership, Innovation, and Service

Section 504: Rehabilitation Act of 1973

Section 504 is part of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. Section 504 is a federal statute that prohibits discrimination against “otherwise qualified handicapped individuals” in any program or activity receiving federal financial assistance, such as public schools. The main purpose of Section 504 is to prohibit discrimination while assuring that disabled students have educational opportunities and benefits equal to those provided to non-disabled students.

Current Board policy regarding 504

Parent resources
  • Section 504 – The Rehabilitation Act – Introduction and Procedures (pending update)
  • Section 504 – The Rehabilitation Act – Guidelines (pending update)
  • Section 504 – District Policy – Nondiscrimination on the Basis of Disability (pending update)

For more information, contact:

Erica Leppert, Director of Pupil Services
erica.leppert@indianhillschools.org
513-272-4500

Building Contacts:
Primary School:                                                                        Elementary School:
Jennifer Oden                                                                           Sarah Kellet
(513) 272-4760                                                                        (513) 272-4714
jennifer.oden@indianhillschools.org                                        sarah.kellett@indianhillschools.org

Elementary School:                                                                  High School:
Sarah Kellett                                                                             Nollis Cottrell
(513) 272-4714                                                                        (513) 272-4563
sarah.kellett@indianhillschools.org                                          nollis.cottrell@indianhillschools.org

Middle School:                                                                          Kyle Crowley
Nick Carpenter                                                                         (513) 272-4565
(513) 272-4653                                                                         kyle.crowley@indianhillschools.org
nick.carpenter@indianhillschools.org
                                                                                                 Donita Jackson
Kathy Yeager                                                                           (513) 272-4506
(513) 272-4654                                                                         donita.jackson@indianhillschools.org
kathryn.yeager@indianhillschools.org
                                                                                                  Lindsay Kearns
                                                                                                  (513) 272-4568
                                                                                                  lindsay.kearns@indianhillschools.org